BMF Bootcamp – Hampstead Heath

I don’t know about you, dear reader, but I am obsessed with these new television programmes about the armed forces and their new recruits (think Royal Navy School, Royal Marines Special School and so on….). I’ve always wondered how I would cope under that sort of pressure and the physical demands of training. I have to admit though that all that cleaning and discipline isn’t really my thing… just ask my mum.

You could understand my glee then when I stumbled across BMF, or British Military Fitness. What an ideal fit. All the military fitness expertise without the cleaning – perfect.

‘Twas on the Heath

I went along to one of their classes at Hampstead Heath. I have to admit I probably didn’t do myself any favours with that decision – the Heath is one of the more hilly places in London and only later did I realise how hard that would make the workout.

This class meets in the Parliament Hill Lido car park, and there were around 50 or so people in total (I think). I was greeted by a charming man in camouflage trousers and black boots who was very patient with me despite all of my questions. They split you up into three groups according to your level of fitness and each gets a separate instructor. It means you can be confident that you will be with people of a similar level .

Rallying the troops

The outdoor class had lots of squats, push ups, core work and strength exercises interspersed with hill work and sprints.  The military man overseeing the class was really motivating (which was much needed, particularly given the muddy conditions), and he utilised everything at our disposal in the Heath to deliver a challenging workout without using any fancy equipment.

The great workout wouldn’t be the only reason I would go back though. BMF’s greatest appeal, I think, is that the class is rooted in teamwork, support and partnership.

This might sound a little lame but hear me out. Exercise classes can sometimes be quite isolated – you turn up, stretch, sweat, and leave. And sometimes, that might be what you are after. But in BMF you are required to pair up for the majority of the exercises and so you need to work together whether you like it or not. I did like it, a lot. Everybody in the class was really friendly and supportive, and for a newcomer like me, it felt like I was instantly part of a community.

I spoke to a few of the recruits, and what was clear was that people had been coming to this class for quite some time. They knew the instructors, they knew each other, they knew their different styles, and they kept coming back time and time again. After such a warm welcome and challenging workout, I completely understood why.

Over and Out

If you are looking for a sociable, challenging and muddy workout, look no further. BMF ticks all the boxes. BMF have classes all over London and the rest of the UK, so chances are there will be one at your local park.

They offer a free first class so you can see if you like it, and membership options differ according to location and how long you sign up for. I would encourage anyone to go and try it out at the very least – you won’t regret it.

And as for joining the military… I think I’ll just stick to BMF. That’ll keep my mum happy.

British Military Fitness, locations across the UK

 

 

Leave a comment